The Greater Nepal Nationalist Front has begun a signature collection campaign demanding the return of the territory that Nepal lost through the ‘Treaty of Sugauli’.

The ‘Treaty of Sugauli’ was signed on December 2, 1815, and ratified by March 4, 1816, between the East India Company and King of Nepal following the Anglo-Nepalese War of 1814-16, during the reign of King Girwan Juddha Bikram Shah.

Nepalese territories including Darjeeling were handed to the British East India Company as concessions under the treaty which was signed in 1816 on the conclusion of the Anglo-Nepalese War.

Under the treaty, Nepalese-controlled territory that was ceded included all areas that the king of Nepal had won in earlier wars such as the kingdom of Sikkim in the east and Kumaon and Garhwal in the west.

The campaign was initiated on Friday, marking the Prithvi Jayanti, and from the premises in front of the western gate of Singha Durbar, where the statue of Prithvi Narayan Shah is erected. Signatures will be collected from within and outside the country, and the campaign will continue until coming mid-April, said the Front Chair Phanindra Nepal.

The signatures collected as such will be handed over to the President of Nepal, the UN Secretary-General, the five members of the UN Security Council — China, USA, Russia, the UK and France, and to the SAARC Secretary General.


Source: (RSS except the headline/title)

Like it? Share with your friends!